I’m a runner. There, I said it!

26 Aug
With weather like this, a board room with windows is just a torture device.

With weather like this, a board room with windows is just a torture device.

 

This week we say our final goodbyes to August… and I can honestly say I’m not that sad about it. August has been a blast, but with this semi-autumnal weather we’ve been having, I can’t help but be psyched about the idea of bonfires, sweaters, hearty beers, and best of all… no more running in 85-but-it-feels-like-105-degree weather.

This weekend I found out something really cool and unexpected: I’m getting faster. I decided to track the time and distance of my runs last week with my iPhone (sorry shared data plan!), and Friday I ran my fastest 5k yet (that I know of)… until this morning. Despite my less-than-stellar eating patterns lately, I’ve actually been consistently running 3 miles 3-4 times per week. Without noticing it, I’m getting faster and my runs are feeling better all the time. Now, my past experiences have taught me that the moment I decide to track my running/eating/lifting progress, I immediately stop whatever good behavior I was planning to document; it’s a self-sabotage mechanism. I’m determined to break free from that. I’m by no means a “fast” runner, but for the first time in the 3 years I’ve been trying, I finally feel like a runner. Every person determines for themselves what that title signifies, if anything, and for me it’s always been something I wanted to feel. And now I do, hooray! As soon as I get paid Friday, the first thing I’m going to do is sign up for the Clarendon Day 5k through Pacers. I want to get an official time, and the race is on a speedy route that is mostly down hill, so I should be able to really push it.

Starting with a speedy run in gorgeous weather is a great way to get through a Monday, even with a dentist appointment shortly after. If I can survive all that, how bad can the work day be, right? Right??

 

What does being a “runner” mean to you?

One Response to “I’m a runner. There, I said it!”

  1. Tracy August 28, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I don’t know that I’ve ever quite felt like a runner.. Maybe it’s because the second I do, that’s when I start to slip and then I don’t run for weeks!! It has been 2 weeks since my last big workout since I went on vacation and I definitely need to get to it by tomorrow so I’m not starting at square one. I would like to be a runner at some point…. Just need to get there!

Leave a Reply

