A Brief Moment of Calm

6 Aug

Today has gotten off to a very positive start. Despite almost rolling over and forgetting about it, I actually dragged myself out of bed for a 3 mile run. This morning was one of those cozy, gray mornings when you know it’s about to storm any minute. Weather like that is usually a recipe for disaster when it comes to my morning workout, but I just told myself it wasn’t an option today.  I am happy to report that I was rewarded for my efforts. I hadn’t run in over a week, so I was hoping to just get out there and loosen up my legs. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I felt great. I’ve been gauging my runs lately just by how I feel. Today I felt comfortable in my stride and my breathing, and I did a pretty good job of pacing myself for hills, etc. At the end I sprinted for the last minute and it felt amazing!

After my run, I hustled into work to find that a certain event that had been causing me a ton of stress at work was finally over so I could take a deep breath.  I ate some breakfast (cucumber slices with Laughing Cow Cheese, Cheerios, and a side of breakfast potatoes… I swear running gives me pregnancy-style cravings of weird combinations), and perused my favorite blogs. Right now my top 4 are: Fannetasticfood.com, runnergirleats.com, kellyrunsforfood.com, and of course, smittenkitchen.com. As I hit Smitten Kitchen, I saw an absolutely beautiful tomato galette. Usually when I see that word I turn and run because it looks too advanced, but I’m trying to be more fearless in my life lately. And let’s be honest, what is more ballsy than attempting a finicky pastry product?

Yikes! I will not be intimidated, I will not be intimidated, I will not....

Yikes! I will not be intimidated, I will not be intimidated, I will not….

Luckily, Blair is out of town this week so if it’s a major flop, I can pretend it never happened… until I blog about it.

Given how positively I have started my day, I really want to keep the ball rolling, and that means tackling my mile-long to-do list. Making lists is one of my favorite things to do, but I’ve been struggling with crossing anything off of them recently. It’s like if one part of my life is going really well, or really poorly, I forget about everything else. I always thought I was a good multi-tasker because I can clean my room and talk on the phone at the same time, but by the looks of my to-do list (and the state of my room for that matter), I may have some work to do in that department. Lucky for me, my best college friend is coming to visit this weekend so I have some extra motivation to at least do the cleaning part of my list. And with Blair gone, who’s to say I can’t have a 90’s dance party while I’m doing it??

 

How do you tackle your to-do list each week?

One Response to “A Brief Moment of Calm”

  1. Tracy August 10, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    I break my to-do’s between each day of the week and look at what day I can realistically squeeze certain items in. Doesn’t always work perfectly but it definitely helps!

Leave a Reply

