Did you hear that, weather? First day of SPRING

22 Mar

Image

 

Just because Punxsutawney Phil and the weather can’t get their stories straight, doesn’t mean I can get my Spring on. Hence this wonderfully Springy dinner of asparagus topped with an egg. The extra little something that makes this dish absolutely pop is a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. It makes all the difference, and added a citrus-y pop to this hearty dish. And let’s be honest, is there anything that is not made better by a hit of egg yolk? I didn’t think so.

As I walked home in the bitter cold today, listening to NPR tell me about how the weather is not going to get much better, I could already picture how my night was going to go. It’s been a very similar story each night since I moved here. I’ll give you the highlights: warm sweatpants, couch, DVR. Just thinking about it was depressing. When did I become that person? I wondered. It’s almost scary how easily actions become habits. It’s even scarier how hard it is to break these habits. I came to the sad realization that if I waited for warm weather to arrive in order to come out of hibernation and be active, I could very well be waiting another month. I’ve allowed myself to make every possible excuse to sit on my butt each day after work, but enough is enough. I have made some incredible, life changing modifications to my eating routine, and now it’s time to dive back into something that used to be my favorite thing: fitness. It started today, with a very non-impressive, but statement-making run. As I was running on the treadmill, I was pleasantly surprised to see that they fixed the spin bikes in our gym; a sign! So while I wait for Mother Nature to get off her lazy ass, I’m going to get off of mine 🙂

Here is some Thursday food for thought: The NY Times reported on a study last year estimating that for every single hour of television watched after the age of 25, you take 28 minutes off of your life expectancy. Yikes! Keep that in mind during this last month of cold weather, and turn on some music instead of the TV, and feel free to cut a rug!

This weekend: I plan on hitting the farmer’s market to load up on some local produce. Spring’s fruits and veggies are on their way, and I plan on trying all new recipes this season. What spring fruit/vegetable are you looking forward to most in the coming months?

2 Responses to “Did you hear that, weather? First day of SPRING”

  1. Tracy May 7, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    Springtime= asparagus. Summer = tomatoes and berries 🙂

  2. Tracy May 7, 2013 at 3:34 am #

    And I made these smitten kitchen broccoli-Parmesan fritters and put an egg on top.. Perfection.

Leave a Reply

