It’s Actually Happening

19 Dec

After a long hiatus, I am happy to have the mental capacity (sort of) to post again. I’ll be honest with you, I’m mostly writing to avoid doing a myriad of other tasks that are more time-consuming, urgent, and miserable than writing a blog. While I’m here, I’ll fill you in on some wonderful news: After quite a bit of research, consideration, and Google-mapping, I’ve found it. The perfect cupcake bakery near the hospital!  

I mean... what??

I mean… what??

It’s perfect, and they toast the icing on top of the cupcake for crying out loud. (www.sweetlobby.com)  Now that I have that load off of my shoulders, I can go back to focusing on more trivial matters, such as my apartment ( http://www.equityapartments.com/Virginia/Alexandria-Arlington-apartments/Clarendon/Sheffield-Court-apartments.aspx, if you’re interested), and my job (Almost forgot about that little guy).

I started to draft a post last Friday morning while at the copier, because I was feeling an overwhelming excitement that I really wanted to share with everyone. My offer letter was in the mail, someone had contacted me about relocation, I finally felt like I was moving to DC. I found myself grinning at the copier like a fool. I came downstairs and checked the news, and immediately all thoughts of excitement and happiness were extinguished. The tragedy in Connecticut is too terrible to forget about, but I’ve been trying to only let myself think about it for small bits of time. I also feel a renewed sense of urgency to do something with my life, as is common when I hear about something as terrible as young lives being lost too soon. It definitely puts things into perspective.

I read an article yesterday that discussed considering your worth not by what qualities you have, (i.e., “I’m nice”, or “I’m a great listener”) but by what you can actually produce/do for others. The article itself was tedious, preachy, and obnoxious, and so hopefully this fellow isn’t measuring his worth based on his writing, but it did give me something to think about. I often make lists of things I want to educate myself on, or hobbies I want to pick up. I never really follow through with most of them, but every December I’m back to the notebook paper writing about all of the things I’m going to do. I’d still like to run more races this year, and read more books, but I think I’m going to up the ante a little bit. Over the next six months, I’m going to have a decent amount of alone time on my hands. I want to spend some of it aquiring a real skill. Whether I start reading articles on a particular subject and become an expert, or I actually learn how to cook a nice three-course meal that I can whip up any time company comes over. Maybe it’s making the committment to write something, every single day for 365 days. I talk about being interested in public policy, but truth be told, I don’t know one blessed thing about public policy. Some things I would need to go to school to learn, but reading the thousands of free online articles on the subject probably wouldn’t hurt either. I’d like to put some specificity on the way I spend my time; I’d like it to be both more productive and more relaxing. I often stress about what to do when I have  free time, thus undoing any possible benefits of not being at work. 

Is it worth is to be so detailed in drafting “resolutions”, or should I just be myself and let my day-to-day interests, however fleeting, take the wheel during time out of work? Also, if I go through with a committment to write every single day, does that justify a daily cupcake??

One Response to “It’s Actually Happening”

  1. Tracy December 21, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    Those cupcakes look PERFECT. I feel ya on the resolutions too… I need to get better at just doing those things with spare time that are worthwhile instead of watching real housewives.

Leave a comment