B.S.

11 Oct

Big night tonight people! No, I don’t mean the VP debate, I’m too nervous to even think about that. Tonight, I am attempting to cook butternut squash. Widely feared and avoided, the butternut squash is a highly dangerous foe because it is death-defying to handle/cut.

My first thought was to bake it whole, in the oven, to soften it up before cutting and cubing it. Then I thought, what if I nuked it in the microwave for a few minutes? Now, some of you may recall that I have a minor aversion to using the microwave for cooking real food. However I made peace with it because I’ll be baking/cooking it again, so that cancels out the original sin of microwaving. Right? After hunting through countless boring recipes involving brown sugar (I’m not interested in sweet, only savory, which equals salty in my book), I landed on a Giada recipe for penne with B.S., onion, and goat cheese. How could that go wrong? The only thing I am apprehensive about is the chef behind this recipe. Giada is notorious for teasing us with a great-sounding recipe, only to let us down with a complete lack of flavor. I’m feeling good about this one, mostly because I love goat cheese. Check back when you get a chance and I’ll post a picture of my hopefully wildly successful dish. A friend is coming over, so I will no doubt be flustered in the kitchen, and at that point anything can happen.

Tracy, didn’t you make a delicious B.S. something? I’d love to make a ravioli stuffed with it, with toasted walnuts on top and a creamy sauce… Maybe next time

In other news, my hair is very blonde. You may be shocked when you see it… And if you like it or hate it, it really doesn’t matter because given my latest medically-induced poverty, this will be my final round of highlights. (Add that to my list of spoiled brat complaints)

One Response to “B.S.”

  1. Tracy October 11, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Oh boy. What I made was actually spaghetti squash with peppers and onions and cheese and sausage. It was amazing! And actually I partially cooked it in the microwave too! It’s too hard otherwise! Love it!

Leave a Reply

